What is at stake

What this could cost
the people who live here.

Three kinds of statement, never blended: what the company claims here, what is documented near facilities elsewhere, and what has not been disclosed for this site.

A row of vacant storefronts on a small-town main street in the Black Belt, with a courthouse dome visible at the end of the street.

The harms, by resource

Water

The draw they describe, and the paper that would prove it.

Aerial view of cooling towers releasing vapor at a large data center campus, beside a water retention pond and substation.

Cloverleaf describes closed-loop cooling drawing up to 100,000 gallons per day from the Pintlala Water System, framed as a one-time fill. That is the company’s own characterization of its own system.

The reason to ask for the executed contract instead of the summary is on the record one county over. For a data center at Hope Hull, the publicly stated figure was about 30,000 gallons per day. The contract obtained through an open-records request allocated about 150,000 gallons per day, plus roughly 90,000 gallons per day of wastewater that was never publicly disclosed at all. Different company, different project, and not a prediction about this one. It is the reason the paper matters more than the press release.123

Not disclosed for this site

  • Initial fill volume and schedule
  • Makeup water under peak Alabama heat and humidity
  • Blowdown, fire-flow, and construction-period demand
  • Wastewater volume, composition, and disposal

Power bills

The assurance is public. The contract is not.

High-voltage electrical transmission lines and towers against the sky.

Residents have been assured from every direction that their bills are safe. The chair of the county economic development board cited assurances from Alabama Power and PowerSouth that current ratepayers will not be impacted. Commission Chairman Charlie King Jr. said it plainly in April: "The power bill will not go up. They will pay their own charges."

The electric-service agreement and the cost-allocation study that would demonstrate that assurance have not been made public. The Alabama Public Service Commission opened Docket 33709 on July 8, 2026 to examine exactly this question for large-load data-center contracts, and it is open for public comment.

Where the paper has been written, the numbers are not reassuring. Virginia regulators approved a separate rate class for large data-center loads after reporting attributed an additional $11.24 per month in 2026 to data-center load for a typical Dominion residential customer. Ohio residents pay roughly $16 more per month tied to related capacity costs. And when Ohio adopted protective ratemaking rules, data-center demand requests in the state fell from about 30 gigawatts to about 13, which is what happens to demand that was never willing to pay its own way.45678

Not disclosed for this site

  • The executed electric-service agreement
  • The cost-allocation study behind the ratepayer assurance
  • The transmission route, its upgrades, and who pays for them

Noise and health

Under 60 decibels, says the company. Nobody has published a study.

A view from a rural home's porch across a field toward a brightly lit data center campus and transmission towers at dusk.

Cloverleaf’s Chief Development Officer told WSFA the facility would typically operate under 60 decibels at the property line, comparing the sound to air conditioning. That is the company’s estimate, offered without a published noise study for this site.

A Lowndesboro resident whose career includes more than 30 years building, managing, and operating data centers warned commissioners that nearby residents could experience continuous fan noise known as acoustic roar.

Near hyperscale facilities elsewhere, first-person reporting from residents in Northern Virginia and Michigan documented headaches, vertigo, sleep disturbance, hypertension, and ear pain. Sustained sound above 65 decibels is associated with elevated stress and blood pressure. Those are documented experiences in other places, not measurements from this site, and that is precisely the problem: for this site there are no measurements at all.91011

Not disclosed for this site

  • A noise study for this site
  • An enforceable property-line sound limit
  • Cooling-fan counts and their placement relative to homes

Air and generators

A hyperscale campus is also a diesel power plant, part-time.

A long row of diesel backup generators behind a chain-link and barbed-wire fence along a data center building.

Data centers keep banks of backup generators, and diesel generators emit substantially more nitrogen oxides than equivalent natural-gas generation. During an outage, a single facility can release a large share of its annual permitted emissions in a matter of days.

For this project, the generator count, the fuel, the stack locations, and the permitted run hours have not been disclosed. Those numbers exist in an air-permit application whenever one is filed, and they can be published before any vote rather than after.12

Not disclosed for this site

  • Generator count, fuel, and stack locations
  • Permitted run hours, including testing
  • The air-permit application itself

Land and wildlife

More than a thousand acres of farmland, and no environmental review to read.

Aerial view of a rectangular concrete pad cleared from pine forest for a data center under construction, with a utility corridor cut through the trees.

Four numbers describe this property and none of them match. The public site plan describes roughly 800 acres of farmland along U.S. Highway 80. A coalition assessment reports up to approximately 1,700 acres under option. An August 9, 2026 al.com report describes 1,050 acres. And a state permit now carries a government-filed figure: the construction stormwater permit the Alabama Department of Environmental Management issued on July 8, 2026 states a property area of 1,043.91 acres, with 270.42 acres authorized for disturbance. We carry all four separately rather than reconciling them, because the paperwork that would reconcile them has not been produced. Converting working farmland at any of those scales changes drainage, habitat, and night lighting for everyone around it.

Part of the gap this page used to describe has since been filled, and not by a public process. ADEM issued permit ALR10C89L to Sandstone Cliffs DevCo LLC on July 8, 2026, authorizing clearing, grubbing, erosion controls, mass grading, and sediment basins, discharging to Dry Creek and unnamed tributaries through thirteen outfalls, with construction anticipated to begin August 1, 2026. A stormwater plan for this site is now in the public record. The thirty-day window to contest that permit closed on August 7, 2026.

What is still missing is most of it. The permit covers construction stormwater and early civil work. It is not approval for campus construction, operation, backup-generator air emissions, water supply, wastewater, wetland fill, road access, tax incentives, or electric service. The permit plans state that no jurisdictional wetlands are present, while marking at least six depressed areas that are not to be impacted until the Army Corps of Engineers issues a jurisdictional determination. No habitat survey and no lighting plan have been published. The honest status of wildlife and habitat at this site is still undocumented, and the clearing is permitted to begin before the documents exist.13141516171819

Not disclosed for this site

  • Any habitat survey or environmental assessment for the parcel
  • The Army Corps jurisdictional determination for the marked depressed areas
  • The lighting plan
  • The FEMA flood-zone designation for the parcel

Property values

The evidence is mixed, and we say so.

A George Mason University study of 2023 home sales found that homes closer to data centers in Northern Virginia tended to sell for higher prices. The authors caution that this may reflect that region’s pent-up housing demand and may not generalize to rural markets like ours.

We publish that study because it cuts against what many of our neighbors expect. A harms page you can trust is one that includes the finding you did not want.20

What other states require

Alabama specifies neither number.

Two other states have already written data-center-specific tariffs setting a minimum contract term and a minimum demand charge, so large-load customers cannot walk away from the infrastructure built for them. Alabama’s new law requires only that a contract is "expected to" recover its costs.21

StateMinimum termMinimum demand chargeTrigger
Ohio12 years85% of subscribed capacity25 MW aggregate
Indiana12 years80% of contract capacity70 MW single site / 150 MW aggregate
AlabamaNone specifiedNone specified150 MW

Sourced individually to each state’s own tariff order.222321

The wetlands question, mapped

The permit says none. The federal map says otherwise.

The ADEM permit plans state that no jurisdictional wetlands are present on the site, while marking six depressed areas that cannot be touched until the Army Corps of Engineers confirms that.19​ The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s National Wetlands Inventory maps the same general area differently: a real presence of freshwater wetlands and a dense network of streams.24

National Wetlands Inventory map of the quadrant around the U.S. Highway 80 and Alabama Highway 21 intersection near Lowndesboro, showing green freshwater forested and shrub wetland, pale green freshwater emergent wetland, blue ponds, and a dense network of thin dark stream lines.
Freshwater forested/shrub wetlandFreshwater emergent wetlandPond / lakeRiverine (stream)

This is a federal mapping product using a biological definition of wetlands. It is not a jurisdictional determination and does not establish the regulatory scope of any agency, including whether jurisdictional wetlands exist on the permitted parcel specifically. The map is held at quadrant scale on purpose, several square miles around the public highway intersection, with no parcel boundary, owner name, or coordinate shown.

Held apart on purpose

The modeled national picture.

Published modeling projects that U.S. data centers could contribute to roughly 1,300 deaths per year by 2030, with an associated public-health burden in excess of $20 billion annually. That is a national model, clearly labeled as modeling, and it is carried here for scale, not as a claim about this site.25

Why this page has gaps in it.

Every section above ends in a list of documents that do not exist in public. That is not a weakness of this page. It is the finding. A project of this scale arrives with a water contract, a power contract, an air permit, a noise study, and an environmental survey, and every one of them can be published before a vote instead of after.

Documented experience near other facilities is the reason to require those documents. It is never a substitute for them, and nothing on this page predicts an outcome for this site. When a disclosure is made, we will publish it and move the item out of the gap list, whatever it says.

Sources on this page

  1. Cloverleaf responds to Lowndes County data center concerns, WSFA 12 (2026-06-04). Cloverleaf statement to ICN and WSFA — view source

    ReportedAccessed 2026-07-12
  2. Water-service contract obtained by open-records request, Montgomery-area water system (2026-05-01). Open-records production

    ReportedAccessed 2026-07-27
  3. Records Request for Documents related to Project Red Clay Data Center, Southern Environmental Law Center and Natural Resources Defense Council (2026-07-27). Request scope: environmental and noise studies — view source

    Not disclosed by the projectAccessed 2026-07-12
  4. Stakeholders consider potential data center project, The Lowndes Signal (2026-05-26). Utility statement — view source

    ReportedAccessed 2026-07-27
  5. Mystery data center could receive 30-year tax break beside sacred Selma march ground, Yellowhammer News (2026-07-24). Reporting by Sherri Blevins, quoting an April statement — view source

    ReportedAccessed 2026-07-27
  6. Docket 33709 public comment and reply information, Alabama Public Service Commission (2026-07-08). Generic proceeding — view source

    Accessed 2026-07-12
  7. Virginia regulators approve new Dominion rates, Inside Climate News (2026-01-07). Rate class approval — view source

    Accessed 2026-07-27
  8. Data Center Power Demands Are Contributing to Higher Energy Bills, Environmental and Energy Study Institute (2026-01-01). Ratemaking and demand — view source

    Accessed 2026-07-27
  9. Cloverleaf responds to Lowndes County data center concerns, WSFA 12 (2026-06-04). Aaron Bilyeu statements — view source

    ReportedAccessed 2026-07-27
  10. Mystery data center could receive 30-year tax break beside sacred Selma march ground, Yellowhammer News (2026-07-24). Reporting by Sherri Blevins — view source

    ReportedAccessed 2026-07-27
  11. Living in Hell: Data Center Neighbors Grapple With Noise, Air Pollution, U.S. News & World Report (2026-04-28). Resident reporting, with EESI on the decibel threshold — view source

    Accessed 2026-07-27
  12. California Agency Urged to Protect Public Health, Environment From Data Center Diesel Generators, Center for Biological Diversity (2026-04-22). Advocacy filing — view source

    ReportedAccessed 2026-07-27
  13. An 800-acre data center is being quietly pushed in Lowndes County, Yellowhammer News (2026-04-01). ICN-reviewed company plan — view source

    ReportedAccessed 2026-07-12
  14. In rural Alabama, voters feel sold out to massive data centers: ‘Slap in the face’, al.com (2026-08-09). Reporting by Ruth Serven Smith — view source

    ReportedAccessed 2026-08-10
  15. NRDC/SELC assessment, NRDC / Southern Environmental Law Center (2026-06-29). Meeting summary and 2026-05-27 assessment

    Accessed 2026-07-12
  16. ADEM construction stormwater permit ALR10C89L, Red Clay Technology Campus, Alabama Department of Environmental Management (2026-07-08). Notice of Intent, property and disturbed area — view source

    Accessed 2026-08-06
  17. Lowndes County permit applications, Alabama Department of Environmental Management (2026-07-08). Water - Construction Stormwater permit listing; underlying document at ADEM eFile MasterID 63469 — view source

    Accessed 2026-08-10
  18. ADEM construction stormwater permit ALR10C89L, Red Clay Technology Campus, Alabama Department of Environmental Management (2026-07-08). Permit and Notice of Intent — view source

    Accessed 2026-08-06
  19. ADEM construction stormwater permit ALR10C89L, permit plan sheets, Alabama Department of Environmental Management (2026-07-08). Permit plan sheets, wetlands notation — view source

    Accessed 2026-08-06
  20. Study: Home prices are higher when house is near a data center, George Mason University Schar School (2025-11-01). Schar School study — view source

    Accessed 2026-07-27
  21. SB270 enrolled, Alabama Legislature (2026-10-01). Ala. Code § 37-4-22.1 — view source

    Accessed 2026-07-12
  22. Application of Ohio Power Co. for Approval of a Tariff for Data Centers & Mobile Data Centers, Case No. 24-508-EL-ATA, Opinion and Order, Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (2025-07-09). Opinion and Order — view source

    Accessed 2026-08-11
  23. Indiana Michigan Power Company, Cause No. 46097, Final Order, Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission (2025-02-19). Final Order — view source

    Accessed 2026-08-11
  24. National Wetlands Inventory, Wetlands map service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (2026-08-11). Wetlands Mapper, exported at quadrant scale (roughly 8km by 6km) centered on the public Highway 80/Highway 21 intersection — view source

    Accessed 2026-08-11
  25. Health implications of the rapid rise of data centers in Virginia: an exploratory assessment, Frontiers in Climate (2026-01-01). Exploratory assessment — view source

    ReportedAccessed 2026-07-27

Last updated

Ask for the paper.

The gap lists above are the agenda. Three things you can do this week put them in front of the people who can close them.

Take Action